Every NBA Team’s Best “Big 3” Of All Time


Dirk Nowitzki, Jason Kidd, Shawn Marion

Power forward Dirk Nowitzki and point guard Jason Kidd played together in Dallas from 1994 to 1996, with the latter becoming part of the “Three J’s” with Jamal Mashburn and Jim Jackson. Kidd rejoined the Mavericks in 2008 and forward Shawn Marion was added in 2009. This Big 3 won the NBA Championship in 2011 with Dirk being named NBA Finals MVP. Nowitzki is approaching his 20th season with Dallas. He won the NVA MVP in 2007 and is a 13 time All-Star and four time All-NBA First Team selection. Kidd was a 10 time All-Star and five time All-NBA First Team selection. He also led the league in assists five times. Marion was a four time NBA All-Star and was known for playing hard and hustling.


Carmelo Anthony, Allen Iverson, Marcus Camby

The Denver Nuggets have never won or even appeared in the NBA Finals, but that doesn’t mean they haven’t had some great players along the way. From 2006 to 2008 they had a very solid Big 3 in the form of forward Carmello Anthony, guard Allen Iverson, and big man Marcus Camby. Mello is a 10 time NBA All-Star and led the league in scoring in 2013. In 2003 he won the NCAA championships with Syracuse and was named the Final Four MVP. Iverson was the league’s MVP in 2001 and an 11 time All-Star along with two All-Star Game MVPs. Marcus Camby was the weak link in this Big 3, but he was great on defensive, being named the league’s Defensive Player of the Year in 2007 and he also led the league in blocks for four seasons.


Isiah Thomas, Joe Dumars, Bill Laimbeer

Detroit’s Big 3 of point guard Isiah Thomas, guard Joe Dumars, and center Bill Laimbeer had a long run, playing together from 1985 to 1993. The team won back to back NBA Championships in 1989 and 1990 and also consisted of Dennis Rodman, John “Spider” Salley, and Vinnie “the Microwave” Johnson among others. Dumars was named Finals MVP in 1989 and Thomas took that honor in 1990. The original Isiah was a 12 time NBA All-Star and led the league in assists in 1985. Dumars was a six time All-Star and made the All-Defensive First Team four times. Laimbeer was a four time All-Star and led the league in rebounding in 1986. These three helped make up a great defensive team who could also outscore their opponents including the showtime Lakers.


Stephen Curry, Klay Thompson, Kevin Durant

The Golden State Warriors adding Kevin Durant to their already great team in 2016 came as a big surprise for many. Ever since the most recent Big 3 was put together in Miami, teams have started assembling team consisting of three or four superstars. Guards Steph Curry and Klay Thompson had already been playing together since 2011 and won an NBA Championship in 2015 before setting a new record for regular season wins in 2016. They added free agent forward Kevin Durant in 2016, although an injury suffered in 2017 may impact the team’s chances at winning a title together. Curry is a two time MVP and Durant has one the award once, all since 2014. Add in Draymond Green and this will go down as one of the best teams ever if they stay together long enough.


Hakeem Olajuwon, Clyde Drexler, Charles Barkley

The Houston Rockets won the NBA Championship in back to back seasons in 1994 and 1995 led by center Hakeem Olajuwon along with the likes of Kenny Smith, Sam Cassell, and Robert Horry. Clyde Drexler joined the team in 1995 to help them win their second consecutive championship, and Charles Barkley joined in 1996. These Big 3 stayed together until 1998 when Drexler retired, and Barkley did the same in 2000. “The Dream” was named Finals MVP for both titles and was the league MVP in 1994 along with being a 12 time All-Star. He led the league in blocks three times and rebounds twice. “The Glide” was a 10 time All-Star whose number was retired by both the Rockets and Trail Blazers. “Sir Charles” was the league MVP in 1993 and an 11 time All-Star.


Reggie Miller, Chris Mullin, Mark Jackson

The Indiana Pacers have never won an NBA Championship, although they did it win it three times in the old ABA. Although the trio of Paul George, Roy Hibbert, and David West could stack up against almost any triad in the league, the best Pacers Big 3 consisted of guards Reggie Miller, Chris Mullin, and Mark Jackson. The team also featured Jalen Rose and Rik Smits and made the 2000 NBA Finals, losing to a Lakers team led by Shaquille O’Neal and Kobe Bryant. These Big 3 played together from 1997 until that season. Miller was a five time All-Star, as was Chris Mullin. Jackson led the league in assists in 1997 and became a successful coach and broadcaster. Reggie became a successful announcer as well, while Chris Mullin went on to coach at St. John’s starting in 2015.


Add Comment